top of page

Jazz Dock Orchestra


Jazz Dock Orchestra is a 16-piece big band, with a once-monthly residency at Jazz Dock jazz club in Prague, beginning in January 2018, and recently celebrated 5 years at the club.

The orchestra is a collaboration between Jazz Dock and the band's artistic and musical directors Andy Schofield, trombonist Jan Jirucha and saxophonist/band manager Petr Kalfus. 

The aim of the orchestra is to perform original compositions and arrangements by its members, and also to celebrate the repertoire of some of the greatest composer/arrangers in jazz history. 

Projects for 2018-22 included music by Jan Jirucha, Miroslav Hloucal, Richard Šanda and Andy Schofield, as well as classic repertoire from Thad Jones, Bob Brookmeyer, Kenny Wheeler, Charles Mingus and Duke Ellington, plus international guests such as Niels Klein (DE) Ben Wendel, and Kurt Elling (US), Reini Schmoelzer (AT) and Richard Bona (Cameroon).

Jazz Dock Orchestra's first album, featuring original compositions by Andy Schofield and Jan Jirucha, is currently in production, and will be available in autumn 2023.

Please enjoy the videos from some of our live concerts, below:



Trumpets: Miroslav Nováček, Jaroslav Kohoutek, Miroslav Hloucal, Martin Juzzl


Trombones: Jan Jirucha, Stepán Janoušek, Richard Šanda,

Tomáš Bialko (bass)


Saxophones/Woodwinds: Andy Schofield, Petr Kalfus (altos) Marcel Bárta, Suzanne Higgins (tenors) Jakub Cirkl (baritone)


Piano: Jiri Levíček

Bass: Tomáš Baroš

Drums: Daniel Šoltis

bottom of page